Laura Trott is new Pensions Minister


Laura Trott MP has develop into the brand new Pensions Minister, the Division for Work and Pensions introduced at the moment.

After a wait whereas new ministerial obligations have been allotted, the DWP confirmed at the moment that Ms Trott has develop into the brand new Pensions Minister.

She takes over from long-serving predecessor Man Opperman MP who stays on the DWP however takes over as Employment Minister.

Ms Trott is formally appointed as Parliamentary Underneath Secretary of State on the DWP.

She shall be chargeable for pensioner advantages together with the State Pension, personal and occupational pensions and oversight of our bodies such because the Pensions Regulator.

Different areas of duty embrace Pension Credit score and regulatory powers in relation to the Nationwide Employment Financial savings Belief (NEST). She additionally has plenty of different areas as a part of her remit together with the Pension Safety Fund and Pensions Ombudsman.

Ms Trott is the MP for Sevenoaks & Swanley and was first elected in December 2019. 

She grew up simply outdoors the constituency in Oxted. She went to Oxted College, a Complete college, and received a spot to review at Oxford College, changing into the primary in her household to go to college. From 2011 till 2015 she served as an adviser in Downing Avenue advising the then Prime Minister. She served latterly as head of strategic communications and likewise as a part of the coverage group which wrote the 2015 manifesto.

After leaving Authorities she turned a accomplice at a communications agency.  

She is a mom to a few kids, twin boys and one lady, and a supporter of the Sutton Belief which helps younger people who find themselves the primary of their household to go to college. She is a campaigner for social mobility. She has a level in economics and educated as a administration advisor. 

The total checklist of ministerial appointments on the DWP following the election of Rishi Sunak MP as Prime Minister contains:

Mel Stride MP: Secretary of State for Work and Pensions

Man Opperman MP: Minister of State (Minister for Employment)

Tom Pursglove MP: Minister of State (Minister for Disabled Folks, Well being and Work)

Mims Davies MP: Parliamentary Underneath Secretary of State (Minister for Social Mobility, Youth and Development)

Laura Trott MP: Parliamentary Underneath Secretary of State (Minister for Pensions)

Baroness Deborah Stedman-Scott: Parliamentary Underneath Secretary of State (Minister for Lords)







Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *